

GOVERNING BOARD: Sheila A. Grilli, President (Ward III) • Anthony T. Gordon, Ph.D., Vice President (Ward I) • John T. Nejedly, Secretary (Ward IV) Jess H. Reyes, (Ward V) • Tomi Van de Brooke, (Ward II) • Bundit Kertbundit, Student Member

Governing Board Regular Meeting of March 18, 2009

The Contra Costa Community College District (CCCCD) Governing Board met at the George R. Gordon Education Center on March 18, 2009. The regular meeting began with a closed session at 4:30 p.m. followed by open session at 6:00 p.m.

Highlights of the meeting are:

Newly Tenured Faculty Reception

Prior to open session, newly tenured faculty members were honored by the Governing Board at a special reception. The 13 newly tenured faculty members for 2009-10 and their disciplines are listed below:

Diablo Valley College Daniel Abbott Architecture Mark Akiyama Psychology Michael Chisar Physical Education Florence Espiritu Library Sciences John Freytag **Biological Sciences** Lindsey Lang **Mathematics** Gail Sporer **Mathematics** John Thomas English Los Medanos College Peter Doob Mathematics Erlinda Jones Child Development/Early Childhood Education Jancy Rickman **Biological Sciences** Laura Subia Counseling – EOPS Kathleen Willett **Biological Sciences**

New Agreements Approved

The Governing Board approved a number of agreements including the following:

• An amended CCC agreement with the University of California, Berkeley, extending the ending date of the agreement to September 30, 2012, for participation in the Environmental Leadership Pathway Program with the Center for Science Excellence.

The Contra Costa Community College District, founded in 1948 and governed by a publicly elected five-member board, is one of the largest multicollege community college districts in California. The mission of the District is to transform and enhance the lives of students, and through them, the communities served.

- New District agreements with BFGC Architects Planners, Inc., to provide planning, design and construction administration for the CCC music building remodel project and architectural services for the vocational arts rehabilitation project at CCC. Both agreements are funded by the District's Measure A facilities bond.
- A new LMC agreement with Sean McFarland to provide consulting services to Umoja students for the production of a documentary about the Umoja Program.

California Community College Trustee (CCCT) Board Election Candidates

The Governing Board voted for candidates for the CCCT Board of Directors – 2009 election. There are seven vacancies on the CCCT Board, whose members serve three-year terms. The seven candidates who receive the most votes statewide will serve three-year terms.

Retirement Board of Authority Minutes Received

The Governing Board received the August 28, 2009 Retirement Board of Authority minutes which are available for public viewing in the office of the Vice Chancellor, Districtwide Administrative Services.

The meeting was adjourned in memory of Robert L. Wynne, former Contra Costa College president and Diablo Valley College counselor.

Upon approval at the next regular meeting, complete Governing Board minutes for this meeting will be posted at: <u>http://www.4cd.edu/publications/BoardReport0809.asp</u>.

THE NEXT REGULAR MEETING/STUDY SESSION OF THE GOVERNING BOARD WILL BE HELD ON APRIL 29, 2009, AT 5:00 P.M. AT THE BRENTWOOD CENTER, 101A SAND CREEK ROAD, BRENTWOOD, CALIFORNIA

The Contra Costa Community College District, founded in 1948 and governed by a publicly elected five-member board, is one of the largest multicollege community college districts in California. The mission of the District is to transform and enhance the lives of students, and through them, the communities served.